Nigeria Releases Names of 2013, 2014 National Honours Award Recipients as Police, Teacher, Taxi Driver, Make List

The Federal government has released the list of 2013 and 2014 National Honours Award recipients. The Nigerian Times gathered that over 80% of the awardees came from the public sector as either public officers or political appointees.
The list includes a policeman, Sergeant Jafaru Wadzani; a teacher, Dr. Nathaniel Chid Nwaneri; traffic warden, CPL Solomon Dauda; civil servant, Aliyu Omar; public servant, Salihu Sintalma Abubakar; and a taxi driver, Mr. Imeh usuah, a 66-year-old driver who returned N18m forgotten in his car to the owner.

Less than 15% of the recipients are actually from the private sector including the tradition rulers and business men whose individual contributions were considered for the awards.

No one was listed for the highest award of Grand Commander of the Niger (GCON) while the Commander of the Federal Republic (CFR) category goes to mostly retired and current service chiefs, heads of service and traditional rulers.

The title of Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) has some former governors and Chief Judges of various states as beneficiaries.

Those to be awarded Commanders of the Federal Republic of Nigeria are Chief of Defence Staff – Air Marshal Alex Badeh, Chief of Army staff – Maj. Gen. Kenneth Minimah, Chief of Naval Staff – Rear Admiral Usman Jibrin, Chief of Air Staff – Air Vice Marshal Adesola Amosu, Acting Inspector General Of Police – Sulaiman Abba, Fmr. Supreme Court Judge – Justice Bolarinwa Babalakin, Hon. Justice Abubakar Wali, Hon. Justice Ibrahim Muhammad, Hon. Justice Christopher Chukwuma, Hon. Justice Muhammad Coomassie, Hon. Justice Afolabi, Hon. Justice Olufunlola Adekeye.

Others are National Security Adviser – Sambo Dasuki, Former Head of Service of the federation- Bukar Goni Aji, Head Of Service Of The Federation – Mr. Danladi Kifasi, Director-General, National Intelligence Agency, Amb. Ayo Oke, Traditional Ruler- Ademefun Kiladejo, Outstanding Public Servant- Chief Philip Asiodu, Chief of Staff to the President- Brig. Gen. Jones Arogbofa (Rtd), Hrh Alayeluwa Oba (Dr.) Jimoh Oyewumi, Former Minister/President Of M.A.N- Kolawole Babalola, Entrepreneur- Oludolapo Akinkugbe, Emmanuel Iwuanynwu, Jimoh Ibrahim Folorunsho.

Those to be awarded with the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) include former governor of Kogi State-Ibrahim Idris, Chief Judge of Ogun State – Justice Olatokunbo Olopade, Chief Judge of Ebonyi State- Justice Nweke Nwanko, Chief Judge of Akwa Ibom State – Justice Isua Bassey, Chief Judge of Kogi State – Justice Nasiru Ajanah, Chief Judge of Gombe State – Justice Yalah Heman, Chief Judge of Beyelsa State – Justice Kate Abiri.

Others are Grand Khadi of Sokoto State – Abdulkadir Tambuwal, Justice of the Court of Appeal-Justice Amina Augie, Hon. Justice Abubakar Jega Abdul-Kadir, Dr. Peter Odili, Engr. Muhammed Gana, Thomas Aguiyi-Ironsi, Fredrick Obateru Akinruntan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s